top of page


The Meeting of Inorganic Chemists Recently Appointed

Cardiff University
10-12 September 2018


A three-day meeting for inorganic chemists
10 - 12 September 2018

This biennial event brings together junior inorganic chemistry academics from across the UK in a 3 day conference to aid their development into successful, independent researchers through networking and exchange of experiences. Each participant delivers a talk on their background, current position and field of research. In addition, 2-3 leading established researchers are invited to reflect on their own career and share advice on how to become a successful academic.

If you are a recently appointed lecturer or research fellow in any area of inorganic chemistry, you are welcome at MICRA2018. We also welcome postdocs who are looking for their first academic appointment on the path to a career in inorganic chemistry.

Please note, this conference is being run concurrently with the shorter 2-day RAMS2018 meeting (Recent Appointees in Materials Science). Lectures will be in adjacent theatres and breaks/lunches and conference dinner will be joint with the RAMS delegates, to maximise networking and exchange between the groups. We are aware that sessions may be of interest across the conferences and, space constraints permitting, delegates will be able to join the most appropriate session for their interests. One of the scientific sessions will be a shared session, featuring plenary speakers of interest to both communities!

The Conference
Draft Programme now available here

Graeme J. Stasiuk, University of Hull

Andrea Laybourn, University of Nottingham

Marco Taddei, Swansea University

John Fielden, University of East Anglia

Emma Richards, Cardiff University

Imogen Riddell, University of Manchester

Sophie L. Benjamin,Nottingham Trent University 

Peter D. Matthews, Keele University

Jennifer Garden, University of Edinburgh

William J. Gee, University of Kent

Jonathan Foster, Sheffield University

David Santos-Carballal, Cardiff University

Luke A. Wilkinson, Imperial College London

Chris Hawes, Keele University

Gareth Lloyd, Heriot-Watt University

Elizaveta Suturina, University of Bath

Andreas Stasch, St Andrews University

Charles Romain, Imperial College London

David Mills, University of Manchester

Thomas W. Chamberlain, University of Leeds

Shahid Iqbal, Xi'an Jiaotong University

Helena Shepherd, University of Kent

James W. Walton, Durham University

Paul J. Saines, University of Kent

Rianne M. Lord, University of Bradford

Ruaraidh McIntosh, Heriot Watt University

Rebecca Melen, Cardiff University

Timothy L. Easun, Cardiff University

Andrew Surman, Kings College London

Joseph Wright, University of East Anglia

Invited plenary speakers

Dr Aidan McDonald, Trinity College Dublin

(RSC 2017 Sir Edward Frankland Fellowship award winner)

Dr Deborah Kays, University of Nottingham

(RSC 2018 Chemistry of Transition Metals Award winner)


Carri Cotton, Chemical Science

(Assistant Editor)

Confirmed Speakers

To register for this event, please email the organisers at with your name, contact details and a completed abstract form. 

Registration is £100 for the conference. This includes tea and coffee, light lunches on Monday, Tuesday & Wednesday, and the Conference Dinner on Monday 10th September. Accommodation is not included in the registration fee (see below for options). Payment information will be provided on submission of your abstract and registration details.

Registration and abstract submission for MICRA 2018 has now closed. Last-minute enquiries about attending should be directed to the email address above.

Registration & Abstracts



University Accommodation:  Single occupancy en-suite bedrooms have been reserved at Colum Hall.  Prices are from £30.42 per night and includes a full cooked breakfast served in the Julian Hodge Building.  To book University accommodation please click here.

For alternative accommodation options, we recommend the Visit Cardiff webpage.

Please note, there will be a welcome drinks event at the School of Chemistry on the evening of Sunday 9th September for those delegates arriving the night before the main conference start.


bottom of page